What Order to Read The Witcher Books

What Order to Read The Witcher Books? Leave a comment

The Ultimate Guide: What Order to Read The Witcher Books


The Witcher series, written by Polish author Andrzej Sapkowski, has captivated readers worldwide with its rich storytelling, complex characters, and immersive world. Whether you’re a newcomer or a long-time fan, knowing the best order to read the books can enhance your experience of Geralt of Rivia’s adventures. Here’s a comprehensive guide on the recommended reading order for The Witcher books.

What Order to Read The Witcher Books

Publication Order vs. Chronological Order

Publication Order

Reading the books in the order they were published is a popular choice as it follows the author’s original release schedule, which introduces the world and characters in a way that builds suspense and depth.

1. The Last Wish (1993)
2. Sword of Destiny (1992)
3. Blood of Elves (1994)
4. Time of Contempt (1995)
5. Baptism of Fire (1996)
6. The Tower of the Swallow (1997)
7. The Lady of the Lake (1999)
8. Season of Storms (2013)

Chronological Order

For those who prefer a linear narrative, the chronological order presents the events as they happen within the Witcher universe.

1.The Last Wish (1993) – A collection of short stories that introduce Geralt and provide background on his world.
2.Sword of Destiny (1992) – Another set of short stories that further develop the characters and set the stage for the main saga.
3.Season of Storms (2013) – Although published later, this standalone novel fits between some of the stories in The Last Wish.
4.Blood of Elves (1994) – The first full-length novel that begins the main Witcher saga.
5.Time of Contempt (1995) – Continues the story from **Blood of Elves**.
6.Baptism of Fire (1996) – Follows Geralt’s journey as he continues his quest.
7.The Tower of the Swallow (1997) – Delves deeper into the overarching plot and character development.
8.The Lady of the Lake (1999) – Concludes the main saga, wrapping up the storylines and character arcs.

Detailed Reading Order

1. The Last Wish

The Last Wish is an essential starting point. It introduces Geralt of Rivia, a monster hunter known as a Witcher, through a series of interconnected short stories. These tales provide valuable context for the main saga and introduce key characters like Yennefer and Dandelion.

2. Sword of Destiny

Following The Last Wish, Sword of Destiny continues to build on Geralt’s adventures and relationships. This collection of short stories is crucial for understanding the characters’ motivations and the world’s complexities, including Geralt’s bond with Ciri.

3. Season of Storms

Season of Storms is a standalone novel set between the stories in The Last Wish. While it can be read at various points, reading it after the short story collections ensures a better understanding of the world and Geralt’s character.

4. Blood of Elves

Blood of Elves marks the beginning of the main saga. The novel follows Geralt as he takes on the role of protector for Ciri, a young girl with a mysterious destiny. This book sets the stage for the epic story that unfolds over the next several novels.

5. Time of Contempt

In Time of Contempt, the political intrigue and tensions in the world of The Witcher escalate. Geralt and Ciri face new challenges as they navigate a world on the brink of war. This book deepens the story and develops the characters further.

6. Baptism of Fire

Baptism of Fire continues the saga with Geralt’s quest to find and protect Ciri. The novel introduces new characters and alliances, adding layers to the complex narrative. Geralt’s journey becomes more perilous and significant.

7. The Tower of the Swallow

The Tower of the Swallow takes the story to new heights, focusing on Ciri’s struggles and growth. The novel delves into her destiny and the forces seeking to control her. The stakes are higher, and the plot thickens.

8. The Lady of the Lake

The Lady of the Lake concludes the main saga with an epic and emotional resolution. All the threads come together in this final novel, providing a satisfying conclusion to Geralt and Ciri’s journey.


Reading The Witcher series in either publication or chronological order offers a unique experience. The publication order captures the original pacing and suspense intended by Andrzej Sapkowski, while the chronological order provides a seamless narrative flow. Whichever path you choose, you’re in for an unforgettable adventure in the world of The Witcher.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *